Field Blog Post 2

My field observation was at Roxboro elementary school in Cleveland Heights. During one of my observations, I was given the opportunity to have a conversation with the teacher I was observing and relate what she told me to the New Teacher Book we have been reading and studying in class. I was talking to my teacher about the setup of her classroom. The classroom was set up at tables of 4 and students got to choose where they sat. She made sure that everyone was sitting with someone and that no one was alone. She then talked about the importance of socialization in young adolescents. One of the things I noted is that she made sure to set a boundary with her students. She told her students that it is important to listen and be quiet while she gives directions. She lets the class know that after she is finished giving directions, the students may talk as they work, whether that is alone or with partners. I had the amazing opportunity to relate her classroom setup to the New Teacher Book section titled Uncovering the Lessons of Classroom Furniture by Tom McKenna. This section talks about the importance of your classroom setup because it can affect the class dynamic. I shared this with the teacher and she completely agreed. My comic strip reflects the conversation we had about classroom setup and the classroom setup of her class that I observed.

Leave a comment